Cisco Data Center Unified Computing Design Specialist (DCUCD)

The Cisco Data Center Unified Computing Design Specialist validates an engineer's ability to design scalable, reliable, and intelligent Data Center Virtualization solutions. The following products are covered in learning materials:

  • Cisco Unified Computing System B and C Series
  • Server virtualization software
  • Server operating systems
  • Additional Cisco Data Center products


All candidates must meet the following baseline requirements:

  • Earn the following two Cisco certifications DCSNS (Data Center Storage Networking Design Specialist) and DCNID (Data Center Networking Infrastructure Design Specialist) or
  • "Fast start option" (Choose this option if you wish to bypass option "a" by completing your CCDA certification and passing the DCUCD Qualifier Exam (642-978)

NOTE: Prerequisites NOT applicable for DCUC ATP Partner status.

Recommended training for this certification



642-993 DCUCD


Complete one of the following recertification options every two years:

  • Re-take and pass all exams for each Specialist certification indicated on the specific certification page. Please note: this includes ALL exams whether refreshed or not.
  • Pass a current CCIE or CCDE written exam Achieving or recertifying CCDE or any CCIE automatically extends your active Specialist certification(s) up to the point of expiration of the last certification achieved.